The Philippine Science High School Central Mindanao Campus is one of thirteen campuses operating under the Philippine Science High School System. The establishment of the campus was initiated by the then Governor and now the Representative of the 2nd District of Lanao del Norte, Hon. Abdullah Bobby D. Dimaporo who envisioned a premier science high school with a curriculum highly enriched in science and mathematics to mentally gifted children of the province for free.


On November 5, 1996, a bill was passed in the House of Representatives by then Representative of 2nd District Lanao del Norte, Hon. Abdullah Dabs Mangotara and finally was signed into law by virtue of Republic Act No. 8461 dated January 19, 1998. This is an Act Establishing the Philippine Science High School  Lanao del Norte Campus and Appropriating Funds Therefore. 


On June 1, 1998 a memorandum of agreement (MOA) was entered into by the PSHS-LNC/PSHS System represented by Dr. Vicenta F. Reyes, Department of Science and Technology (DOST) represented by Secretary William G. Padolina and Lanao del Norte Provincial Government represented by Governor Imelda Quibranza Dimaporo for the realization of the establishment of the science high school.


PSHS Lanao del Norte Campus, renamed as Philippine Science High Central Mindanao Campus through RA No. 9036, formally opened on July 1, 1998, temporarily at Maranding Central Elementary School in Maranding, Lala, Lanao del Norte. 


With the increasing number of scholars, faculty and staff, there was a need for more classrooms and spaces for science laboratories, dormitories and other instruction facilities. In the summer of 2001, the campus moved to Mindanao Civic Center, Tubod as temporary site from April 2001 to March 2007.


The transfer to its 4.9 hectare permanent site at Nangka, Balo-i, Lanao del Norte was in April, 2007 with the supervision of Dr. Ciriaco M. Gillera, the campus director from Nov 1998 to June 2008.

transparency seal  foi

Back to Top